choice Answer on the Scantron provided ONLY.
1. Which of the graphs in Figure 20-1 illustrates the behavior of a total fixed cost?
2. Which of the following describes the behavior of the fixed cost per unit?
|a.||Decreases with increasing production|
|b.||Decreases with decreasing production|
|c.||Remains constant with changes in production|
|d.||Increases with increasing production|
3. For purposes of analysis, mixed costs are generally:
|a.||classified as fixed costs|
|b.||classified as variable costs|
|c.||classified as period costs|
|d.||separated into their variable and fixed cost components|
4. Which of the following statements is true regarding fixed and variable costs?
|a.||Both costs are constant when considered on a per unit basis.|
|b.||Both costs are constant when considered on a total basis.|
|c.||Fixed costs are constant in total, and variable costs are constant per unit.|
|d.||Variable costs are constant in total, and fixed costs vary in total.|
5. Contribution margin is:
|a.||the excess of sales revenue over variable cost|
|b.||another term for volume in the “cost-volume-profit” analysis|
|d.||the same as sales revenue|
6. If sales are $820,000, variable costs are 58% of sales, and operating income is $260,000, what is thecontribution margin ratio?
7. Variable costs as a percentage of sales for Lemon Inc. are 80%, current sales are $600,000, and fixed costs are $130,000. How much willoperating income changeif sales increase by $40,000?
8. If the contribution margin ratio for France Company is 45%, sales were $425,000. and fixed costs were $100,000, what was theincome from operations?
9. If fixed costs are $250,000, the unit selling price is $125, and the unit variable costs are $73, what is thebreak-even sales (units)?
10. If fixed costs are $750,000 and variable costs are 80% of sales, what is the break-even point in sales dollars?
11. If fixed costs are $1,400,000, the unit selling price is $240, and the unit variable costs are $110, what is the amount of sales required to realize an operating income of $200,000?
(for #12) Safari Co. sells two products, Orks and Zins. Last year Safari sold 21,000 units of Orks and 14,000 units of Zins. Related data are:
____ 12. What was Safari Co.’s sales mix last year?
|a.||60% Orks, 40% Zins|
|b.||30% Orks, 70% Zins|
|c.||70% Orks, 30% Zins|
|d.||40% Orks, 60% Zins|
____ 13. If a business had a capacity of $8,000,000 of sales, actual sales of $5,000,000, break-even sales of $3,500,000, fixed costs of $1,400,000, and variable costs of 60% of sales, what is the margin of safety expressed as a percentage of sales?
____ 14. Selling price = $80 per unit
Variable cost = $30 per unit
Units = 20,000
Fixed costs = $240,000
This company is considering a 20% drop in selling price that they believe will raise units sold by 20%. All other costs stay the same. How much will income go up or down if they make this change?
|a.||$184,000 less income|
|b.||$320,000 less income|
|c.||$20,000 more income|
|d.||$40,000 more income|
____ 15. Another name for variable costing is:
____ 16. Under variable costing, which of the following costs would be included in finished goods inventory?
|b.||Salary of vice-president of finance|
|c.||Variable factory overhead cost|
|d.||Fixed factory overhead cost|
____ 17. On the variable costing income statement, the figure representing the difference between manufacturing margin and contribution margin is the:
|a.||fixed manufacturing costs|
|b.||variable cost of goods sold|
|c.||fixed selling and administrative expenses|
|d.||variable selling and administrative expenses|
(for #18) A business operated at 100% of capacity during its first month, with the following results:
|Sales (90 units)||$90,000|
|Production costs(100 units):|
|Variable factory overhead||2,000|
|Fixed factory overhead||5,000||67,000|
|Variable operating expenses||$ 8,000|
|Fixed operating expenses||1,000||9,000|
____ 18. What is the amount of the income from operations that would be reported on theabsorption costingincome statement?
____ 19. Which of the following budgets allow for adjustments in activity levels?
____ 20. Scott Manufacturing Co.’s static budget at 10,000 units of production includes $40,000 for direct labor and $4,000 for electric power. Total fixed costs are $23,000. At 12,000 units of production, a flexible budget would show:
|a.||variable costs of $52,800 and $27,600 of fixed costs|
|b.||variable costs of $44,000 and $23,000 of fixed costs|
|c.||variable costs of $52,800 and $23,000 of fixed costs|
|d.||variable and fixed costs totaling $67,000|
____ 21. At the beginning of the period, the Assembly Department budgeted direct labor of $110,000, direct material of $170,000 and fixed factory overhead of $28,000 for 8,000 hours of production. The department actually completed 10,000 hours of production. What is the appropriate total budget for the department, assuming it uses flexible budgeting?
____ 22. The production budgets are used to prepare which of the following budgets?
|b.||Direct materials purchases, direct labor cost, factory overhead cost|
|c.||Sales in dollars|
|d.||Sales in units|
____ 23. Motorcycle Manufacturers, Inc. projected sales of 76,000 machines for 2010. The estimated January 1, 2010, inventory is 6,500 units, and the desired December 31, 2010, inventory is 7,000 units. What is the budgeted production (in units) for 2010?
____ 24. Production and sales estimates for April are as follows:
|Estimated inventory (units), April 1||9,000|
|Desired inventory (units), April 30||8,000|
|Expected sales volume (units):|
|Unit sales price||$20|
The budgeted total sales for April are:
The Cardinal Company had a finished goods inventory of 55,000 units on January 1. Its projected sales for the next four months were: January – 200,000 units; February – 180,000 units; March – 210,000 units; and April – 230,000 units. The Cardinal Company wishes to maintain a desired ending finished goods inventory of 20% of the following months sales.
____ 25. What should thebudgeted production be for January?
____ 26. Woodpecker Co. has $296,000 in accounts receivable on January 1. Budgeted sales for January are $860,000. Woodpecker Co. expects to sell 20% of its merchandise for cash. Of the remaining credit sales, 75% are expected to be collected in the month of sale, and 25% collected the following month.
The January cash collections are:
Nuthatch Corporation began its operations on September 1 of the current year. Budgeted sales for the first three months of business are $260,000, $350,000, and $400,000, respectively, for September, October, and November. The company expects to sell30% of its merchandise for cash. Of sales on account,80% are expected to be collected in the month of the sale, and 20% in the month following the sale.
____ 27. The cash collections in September fromaccounts receivableare:
____ 28. The cash collections in October fromaccounts receivableare:
____ 29. As of January 1 of the current year, the Grackle Company had accounts receivables of $50,000. The sales for January, February, and March of 2009 were as follows: $120,000, $140,000 and $150,000.20% of each month’s sales are for cash. Of the remaining sales (on account),60% are collected in the month of sale, with remaining 40% collected in the following month.
What is the cash collected (both from accounts receivable and for cash sales) in the month of January?
____ 30. As of January 1 of the current year, the Grackle Company had accounts receivables of $50,000. The sales for January, February, and March were as follows: $120,000, $140,000 and $150,000.20% of each month’s sales are for cash. Of the remaining sales (on account),60% are collected in the month of sale, with remaining 40% collected in the following month.
What is the total cash collected (both from accounts receivable and for cash sales) in the month of February?
____ 31. Standards that represent levels of operation that can be attained with reasonable effort are called:
____ 32. A favorable cost variance occurs when
|a.||Actual costs are more than standard costs.|
|b.||Standard costs are more than actual costs.|
|c.||Standard costs are less than actual costs.|
|d.||None of the above.|
The following data relate to direct materials costs for November:
|Actual costs||4,700 pounds at $5.40|
|Standard costs||4,500 pounds at $6.00|
____ 33. What is thedirect materials price variance?
____ 34. What is thedirect materials quantity variance?
____ 35. If the wage rate paid per hour differs from the standard wage rate per hour for direct labor, the variance is termed(do notover thinkthis question):
____ 36. The following data relate to direct labor costs for the current period:
|Standard costs||7,500 hours at $11.50|
|Actual costs||6,000 hours at $12.00|
What is the direct labor time variance?
|Units of Production||9,450|
____ 37. Calculate the Direct Labor Variance using the above information
____ 38. Calculate the Direct Labor Rate Variance using the above information
Rusty Co. sells two products, X and Y. Last year Rusty sold 5,000 units of X’s and 35,000 units of Y’s. Related data are:
|Unit Selling Price||Unit Variable||Unit contribution|
39. Assuming fixed costs totaled $675,000.What was Rusty Co.’s break-even point (in units)?
40. When units manufactured exceed units sold:
|a.||variable costing income equals absorption costing income|
|b.||variable costing income is less than absorption costing income|
|c.||variable costing income is greater than absorption costing income|
|d.||variable costing income is greater by the number of units produced multiplied by the variable cost ratio.|
41. The amount of income under absorption costing will be less than the amount of income under variable costing when units manufactured:
|a.||exceed units sold|
|b.||equal units sold|
|c.||are less than units sold|
|d.||are equal to or greater than units sold|